The Disorganized Writer

IMG_8353

For those of you that know me well, you’ll know that I am an insanely organized person. That doesn’t just include my day to day life, I am usually a very organized writer as well. Due to the personal circumstances that have turned my life upside down, the past two months have been spent exploring what it’s like to be disorganized in every aspect of my life. I wouldn’t say that I’m necessarily choosing to be this way, but I think things can really get tough when you’re going through major life changes. You start to lose yourself in certain ways, and discover parts of yourself that you didn’t know were there.

I half expected my creative brain to shut itself off and go into some kind of deep dark hibernation, but I’m happy to report that it’s still there, alive and kicking. The major difference is, I find myself writing things in a highly disorganized manor. Whether it be quickly jotting down a few notes on a scrap piece of paper, or emailing myself some dialogue while I’m at the store, I’m all over the place.

I want to say that I’m working on a new project, but it’s hard to really define what that project is. It’s definitely an exploration of new territory, I can tell you that much. I’m normally not the type of writer that can write chapters out of order, but I absolutely have been. If someone opened up the most recent documents that I’ve been typing, they probably wouldn’t make sense to them at all. But that’s okay, because they only need to make sense to me. I know that in time I will go back and fit all of the puzzle pieces together in an orderly way.

So tell me, fellow writers…how do you conquer creative disorganization? Do you find yourself writing things out of order, or are you more of the planning type?

Until next time,

Christine

P.S. Brief Query Process Update – Round Three stats: 5 rejection letters, 5 no responses. I’ll be sending out another ten letters ASAP! Fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

