Two Jobs & A Poetic Spirit

It’s incredibly interesting (and terrifying) how much can change over the course of six months. While I have no interest in talking about certain aspects, I do want to talk about the things that I’ve been incredibly thankful for. Working as a staff writer for Bleeding Cool continues to be a spectacular adventure. My pull list has grown, but in turn I have settled into a comfortable rhythm for writing articles and meeting my quota every month. My second job of working as a library assistant at the college I graduated from has been a blessing. It is so comfortable for me to be surrounded by books all of the time, and every single person that I work with is fantastic. It’s an incredible feeling to work with a group of caring individuals. Plus, I’ve even met a few kindred creative souls! That alone has provided me with so much motivation and inspiration.

While I prepared for my first poetry workshop for National Library Week, I found myself remembering my love of poetry. Since then, I’ve immersed myself in a ton of my favorite poems and even started to write some of my own. I am thrilled at how well the workshop went with the students and staff, so I look forward to further developing ideas for the fall semester. For now, I think the universe is pointing me towards poetry as my creative outlet. I used to write poetry all of the time, and then I moved onto short stories and novels. Now I find myself filled with a poetic spirit again, and I’m quite happy to embrace it. I look forward to diving back into writing creatively, and analyzing a ton of poets for guidance and inspiration.

For example, I believe this quote to be very true.

“Poetry is not an expression of the party line. It’s that time of night, lying in bed, thinking what you really think, making the private world public, that’s what the poet does.”- Allen Ginsberg

Until next time,

Christine

Leave a Reply

