Quotes & Poems

IMG_9828

“I do believe in an everyday sort of magic — the inexplicable connectedness we sometimes experience with places, people, works of art and the like; the eerie appropriateness of moments of synchronicity; the whispered voice, the hidden presence, when we think we’re alone.” ― Charles de Lint

I stumbled upon this quote the other day, and truly felt connected to it. Despite all of the hectic madness going on in my life right now, I’ve been blessed with moments and people that remind me how great life is. It’s important to stay positive no matter what. There is a bit of magic in every day, and I’d much rather focus on that.

My inspiration has been mostly steady since my last post. I find myself scribbling down ideas for poems quite often. As far as completing poems, I have a couple drafts that I’m making progress on. The point is, I’m so happy to be writing again. Perhaps I will share something on here in the near future.

Until then, I’d like to share one of my favorite Robert Frost poems with you. It’s quite fitting for the picture I posted above. It’s called, “Birches.”

You can read the full poem here: Birches by Robert Frost

While I enjoy the whole poem, I’ll share my favorite part below.

 It’s when I’m weary of considerations, / And life is too much like a pathless wood / Where your face burns and tickles with the cobwebs / Broken across it, and one eye is weeping / From a twig’s having lashed across it open. / I’d like to get away from earth awhile / And then come back to it and begin over. / May no fate willfully misunderstand me / And half grant what I wish and snatch me away Not to return. / Earth’s the right place for love: / I don’t know where it’s likely to go better.

There’s so much truth within those lines. I think we’d all like to escape for some time when life’s beaten us down, but the truth is, there is beauty in the breakdown. There’s growth and many new adventures.

Until next time,

Christine

Leave a Reply

