If I Ever Get Lucky Enough…

…to write enough poems to sort into a collection, I think I have a fitting title. I came up with it today while driving and it was one of those moments where I thought, “Oh wow! That’s simple…but incredibly ironic and clever…”

Of course now you’re going to be mad that I’m not going to tell you what it is. I’m sorry. I’m just too paranoid for that sort of sharing… =)

I will tell you that I’ve been working on a lot of poems. I developed some kind of “two-line” disease where I write two lines and stop. I don’t think they’re the type of poems like “In a Station of the Metro” by Ezra Pound where they are mind blowing and effective enough to just be left that way, but I guess you never know. Although I did learn the other day that “In a Station of the Metro” was originally 30+ lines and Pound worked on it for a year until he cut it down to two lines (three if you include the title.) Perhaps some of these poems will just take longer to work on. I’m happy that the ideas are there at least.

Within the past week I did finish two poems. So, progress is progress! I’m happy with them.

I hope you are all feeling inspired and jotting down ideas frequently!

Until next time,

Christine

One thought on “If I Ever Get Lucky Enough…

  1. I’m glad to know someone else gets poet “diseases”! For the longest time I’ve been stuck in making all poems about 4 lines long (sometimes eight), but they never feel finished to me at that length. I haven’t been able to break out it either which is hugely frustrating to me.

Leave a Reply

