Inspired? Do it.

A little less than a month ago, I was sitting in my living room with my boyfriend and we were writing. He was working on his novel and I was working on a new poem. This particular poem that I was working on felt a lot like I was digging for a piece of myself that was hidden and strongly attached to my insides. None the less, I found it, grabbed onto it, and yanked it out pulling some anxiety along for the ride.

c4hap4kxuaa6i4h

This isn’t the first time that has happened over the past few months. With honest writing comes a certain level of anxiety. When you dig up traumatic parts of your life, it shakes you. Not to mention, you’re putting it on a page that you will most likely read to someone or have someone read. While I’ve been powering through, I found myself incredibly drained after this instance. All of a sudden I was dealing with old anxiety issues, ones that I thought I had already defeated. Then it dawned on me…balance. The key to everything in my life is balance. Maybe you feel the same way?

I sat in the living room talking to my boyfriend about what had just happened in my brain, talking about balance. Then, I remembered a dream. A dream I had probably a little more than a year ago.

[Note: I’m a superstitious human, so you might be a little confused moving forward. Sorry.]

I proceeded to tell my boyfriend about the dream and followed it up with, “Why don’t I write about that? I can write poetry and write that too, can’t I?”

Being the encouraging human that he is, he of course supported me.

Suddenly I was filled with a breath of fresh air. It was almost like I hadn’t taken in breath like this in years. I practically ran out the door in that moment on a quest for a new journal. (Everyone needs a new journal for a new project, right?) Since then, I’ve been writing. I’ve been working on my poetry and working on this new project. Guess what? It feels great. I felt inspired, I followed my instincts, and I’m so happy I did.

Now, I’m not sure if anyone ever looks at the “Writing” tab on my blog, but today I added this…

screen-shot-2017-03-04-at-1-40-22-pm

Sorry, I’m superstitious and so afraid that the ideas will run away scared…

oijox8u

…more to come soon!

All in all, if you’re inspired…DO IT! Don’t think about it, just do it! Write. Write. Write.

Until next time,

Christine

P.S. Guess who’s in the process of applying to MFA programs? This girl.

One thought on “Inspired? Do it.

Leave a Reply

